Kong Bed Review

Shortly after Mom and Dad brought me home they had purchased me a dog bed to go into my crate. I have a very large crate, and so Mom and Dad wanted to make sure that the bed would be big enough to cover most of the floor on the crate.

Also, since I am still somewhat a puppy the didn’t want me to destroy my dog bed in no time flat. Mom did some looking around and came across the Kong Dog Bed.

Kong Dog Bed

The description of the item is as follows:

* Chew Resistant

* Reversible

* Easy to clean

Chew resistant you say?! We’ll choose this one! Or so Mom and Dad thought.

One day while Mom was at work and Dad left to go have lunch with a friend of his, I went into my crate. Dad left the radio on for me as usual and headed out to lunch.

However when Dad got home I had happily ripped the bed apart and there was stuffing everywhere. Dad was not happy, but he didn’t yell at me. He just mumbled something like, “So much for being chew resistant” under his breath. But when Dad started picking up the pieces of the bed he realized that there were cedar chips in the bed.

Dad really wasn’t a happy camper after he saw that. Both Mom and Dad have had problems with cedar chips and their animals in the past. It has caused respiratory problems. They say that if they had known the bed had cedar chips in it, they never would have bought it for me.

So that very night Mom and Dad took me back to the store where they had purchased it. They explained why they were returning it but the manager just kind of brushed them off. It was not nice of that lady to do that! The cashier was more understanding. We did get a full refund, but Mom and Dad decided to use the refund to get toys, rather than another dog bed. They said once I’m a little older I can have another dog bed, but right now they think I’ll just tear open the new one. (They may be right.)

Mom contacted Kong to try and ask them to please list cedar chips somewhere on the tag of this dog bed so future customers know that they are in there. But they said that Pet Smart (the store we purchased the bed from) was handling all questions and complaints regarding this dog bed. Mom was confused because it’s a Kong dog bed, not a Pet Smart dog bed. But oh well. So Mom called Pet Smart’s corporate number and the person on the other end of the phone said he would submit a suggestion to have cedar chips listed on the bed. It may not be much, but at least Mom and Dad feel better for having made the suggestion. What Pet Smart does with it from there is up to them.

All and all since Mom and Dad were upset about the cedar chips, and this “chew resistant” dog bed only lasted me an hour and it was over $60 when originally purchased, I’m only giving this one out of five paws!

About Radar

I am a one year old Australian Cattle Dog/Bluetick Coonhound/Akita mix. Basically, I'm a well mixed mutt. This blog is all about me and my a
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kong Bed Review

  1. Natasha says:

    Thank you for this information! I was contemplating getting one for my pit bull who has terrible seperation anxiety, and I know better now! Thanks a million!

  2. Anders says:

    My dachshund finally ripped a hole in the outer cover… the handle and labels were gone the first week. Thanks for the heads-up about the cedar chips. It explains why she smells like sawdust sometimes, and is great encouragement to trash the thing before she gets through to the inside. Too bad, too – she loved sleeping on it.

  3. SilentDeath5 says:

    I’m sorry to hear that these beds are not turning out good for you guys, but my pitbulls are doing great with them. I bought 2 for my 3 yr old and my sister’s 4 month old and they love them. Hoping not to offend anyone but I just think that you guys shouldn’t be looking for a bed that’s indestructable. The chewing is the problem and it’s what needs to be fixed. My sister’s pitbull loved to chew on her old beds but since I got her a Kong extreme toy to satisfy her chewing and took her out for long workout periods, she hasn’t chewed on her new Kong bed.

  4. Jennifer says:

    I have to agree about the kong bed and its chew resistant its great, NOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!……..i have a 1 1/2 year old great dane. I left him alone for the first time with his chew resistant kong bed and came home to it ripped apart. WORST BED EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Marc says:

    I to had a Kong bed, I made 20 hours before I ripped the end open. My owner is not real happy with the bed construction.

  6. Jd says:

    Our new adopted pup, about 1 yr old tore a hole in the corner along with other beds. Any good suggestions? I was looking at The Tuff bed.

  7. Connie says:

    I don’t have any problems with our dogs chewing the bed. My problem is that it’s not waterproof and when one of my dogs threw up on it, it soaked through the outer cover to the porous inner sack holding the stuffing. I laundered the outer cover but the inner and the stuffing smell like vomit. When I contacted the company their best response was to tell me I could buy more stuffing at a craft store and gave me several links to buy a different bed from a different company.

Leave a Reply

