Trip to the Lake

Mom asked Dad if we could all go for a trip down to the lake today. So after a little bit of just enjoying our Sunday morning, we all hopped into the car and headed out.

I had no idea what a lake was, but who cares! I was in the car and going somewhere with my people!

So finally Dad parks the car and we get out. I see a lot of trees, and grass, and some things called trails. All I know is that I was outside and having a great time! Part of the trails had steps on them.

I wasn’t to sure about the steps. We don’t have a lot of stairs at home, so at first I took my time, but before you knew it I was dragging Dad up and down those stairs! It was a lot of fun.

Then I was introduced to this weird squishy type substance called sand. It felt really weird between my toes, but it was nice and comfortable when I laid down.

But then Mom had to go and ruin it. She got the bright idea of walking out into the water. At first I wasn’t sure about going in. So Mom just stood there, in the water, in her shoes and jeans, and tried to coax me in.

“Come on Radar! It’s okay!” … Yeah. Sure Mom. Whatever you say, crazy lady.

But eventually I decided I would at least try it. I walked out as far as she did and the waves were just reaching my belly. But then she kept walking forward and asking me to walk forward too, until suddenly my feet couldn’t touch the ground! ACK! So I swam a circle around Mom and decided it was time to go back onto land, where the ground doesn’t suddenly go away. Stupid lake.

We played a bit more out on the beach, and Mom tried getting me to go into the water again, but I was having none of it!

Dad just laughed at both of us. We then went back through the trails and into the car. I did have a lot of fun, but I’m not to sure about this whole lake thing. Dad said next time we’d try something called a pond, which I guess is basically a smaller version of a lake. He thinks that the waves and the sheer size of the lake is what was causing me alarm. Me? I’m not sure. I don’t know if I liked the water or not. Mom says I’m built for it because I have thick webbing in between my toes.

Maybe I’ll give it another shot, maybe I won’t.

When we got home Dad gave me a bath. More water! *sigh* But at least I was clean, and then I got a nice long brushing and got to dry out in the sun.

About Radar

I am a one year old Australian Cattle Dog/Bluetick Coonhound/Akita mix. Basically, I'm a well mixed mutt. This blog is all about me and my a
This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trip to the Lake

  1. hello radar its dennis the vizsla dog hay hmmm why did yoo need a bath after yoo went in the water??? it seems like that is a way to git stuk in and endless loop of baths!!! ok bye

    • Radar says:

      That’s what I thought too! But Mom said because I was so full of sand (and a bit of seaweed) that I had to have a bath. Humans are weird.

Leave a Reply

